#Writephoto Round-Up – A Gargoyle at the Cemetery

As I walked through the cemetery gates
Something caught my eye
Watching me as I walked along
Was two eyes up in the sky

I peered at him for a long time
before I turned to go
As I did his eyes did blink
It sounds like madness I know!

I turned back around and walked up close
To get a better look
A cawing sound pierced the sky
And behind him appeared a rook

It must have been that which I had glanced
I gave a nervous laugh
And turned to walk back down
The cemetery path

My visit complete I glanced again
At the Gargoyle in the sky
But I’d swear to anyone who’d listen
As I left he said “Goodbye”

Gargoyle – Image by KL Caley

This little gargoyle collection can be found peering out at Alnwick Castle in Northumberland. Aren’t they enchanting?

Cemetery – Image by KL Caley

This is North Road Cemetery in Darlington. It’s a beautiful place with a really interesting tower, which I wrote about in a previous writephoto – here.


I love how much the October prompts have been inspiring you all! Apologies I am a little behind in reading them all and the round-ups. Thankfully nothing bad, just busy at work as picked up a few 12 hour shifts, combined with some spooky fun activities with my little guy.

Cemetery Entries:

Gargoyle Entries:


I hope you’ll join me for another #writephoto challenge, the latest is FOG – published here.

Thank you all again for taking part in #writephoto.

Take Care
KL ❤

One thought on “#Writephoto Round-Up – A Gargoyle at the Cemetery

Leave a comment