#Writephoto Round-Up – Community

We’re all in this together
At least that’s what they say
Yet this is often forgotten
As people go about their day to day

The overworked receptionist
Who comes across a little rude
Takes it out on the next patient
Without meaning too

The taxi that’s turned up late
Making you miss that meeting
You ignore his apology
And don’t return his greeting

The stressed-out mum shopping
With 3 lively kids in tow
Couldn’t she do this through the week?
Just watch the other shoppers eyes roll

It only takes a second
To stop and take a breath
Give someone a second chance
They are probably trying their best

There’s no magic crystal ball
That tells you all about their life
Perhaps they are having a hard time
Living a life full of strife

Your kindness may go unnoticed
Or it may just make their day
But what harm is there to try it
Be kind, or so they say.

Community – Image by KL Caley

I’ll be honest, I think this is one of my favourite images. I’ve been hoarding it for a while. I had no clue what I would write and still didn’t when I posted it. The inspiration came to me on Sunday, well theoretically Monday after a long night in A&E. When I entered I was told the wait time was 4 hours, as each hour passed another half an hour was added to that time until it was 7 and a half hours before I was seen. A rude receptionist and a care assistant who seemed more interested in scrolling through his phone didn’t help the experience, but with a bit of clear air, any frustration I felt soon subsided.

These were two people working long shifts in an already difficult environment, the receptionist on top of her regular jobs was also now responsible for dishing out water and being interrupted regularly to do so. The care assistant trained to do many jobs was sitting at a desk taking temperatures, not what he would likely want to be doing. On top of all that they are living with the constant fear of covid and all that brings with it. They are truly the front line, overworked, doing additional jobs they probably wouldn’t normally do and seeing the true ravages of this disease (and probably the worst side of people). That’s not even starting on what they may or may not have going on at their homes.

My interaction with these people was small and limited in terms of time but I am incredibly grateful to them and the job they do. When I left the A&E, I said thank you and good night to them both and wished them an easy shift for their remaining hours. I even got a smile.


What a variety of responses this raised in you guys this week, brilliant! I have tried to reblog a few since the post went out so hopefully, you will have seen some of them trickling through, but here is the list below (if I have missed anyone, please let me know). It makes for fantastic reading.

Entries:


I hope you’ll join me for another #writephoto challenge published today at 12 o’clock GMT.

Thank you all again for taking part in #writephoto – Community

With special thanks to Sue who originally made the #writephoto challenge so meaningful for all of us and gave me her blessing to continue it.

Take Care
KL ❤

25 thoughts on “#Writephoto Round-Up – Community

  1. Well said in your follow-up. Thanks for keeping going with this – I hope the A&E visit was something sorted simply, with no long-term effects 🙂

  2. Love the poem. I’ll send it to my daughter, she’s a medic and it gets on top of her at times, but this will make her smile. 🙂

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words and continuing to join in, I really appreciate it. Of course, I really hope she’s enjoying that her #writephoto prompts are still generating such creative posts 🙂 , I chose to believe so. KL ❤

Comments are closed.