The Message – #Writephoto

I followed the waterline not knowing where it would take me. My mind was ignorant to the goose bumps that covered my body tortured by the cold sea breeze. I swallowed the rage, but in doing so tears brimmed, then in the wind trickled their way down my cheek. I twisted my sleeves then swiped at the wetness. The one tortured word echoing over and over… Why!

 

blue image by Sue Vincent
Blue – Image by Sue Vincent

 

Ten years. Our life together had been ten years. Ups and downs like everyone but ten years strong… or so I had thought. How could I have been treated this way? Rage flashed once more. I looked at the pebbles of the beach. Kicked at one, squatted down and picked up another launching it far into the ocean. The force caused my body to twist until I realised a little further along the coast someone stood watching. They carried a small light barely visible in the gloomy sky. I couldn’t make out the face but I had no doubt the eyes were watching me.

As I stared the stranger raised a gloved hand and beckoned me towards him. Without thinking I started to cover the distance between us. Within a few steps, the stranger had turned and walked further away. I put my head down against the wind and hurried my steps to catch up but the stranger always managed to remain a few steps ahead. Eventually, the sand gave way to a grassy embankment that the locals had put a bench atop of. The stranger seemed to be making his way towards that marker. I ran as fast as I could with the wind whipping against me, finally reaching the bench exhausted. I glanced around to see if the stranger was anywhere nearby but there was nothing.

Exhausted I threw myself down onto the bench. The wind whipped about me chasing a shiver down my spine and I turned around still searching. Looking back out towards the brilliant blue sky, something rustled against my feet. I bent down and picked it up, it was a crumpled up note. I unfolded it and inside were the words “I love you. I miss you. Come home.” Looking out at the blue my hands unconsciously followed the folds of the paper, smoothing them over and over. Then with a heave, I levered myself off the bench and headed home.

 


My response to Sue’s wonderful photo prompt combined with Daily Posts treat challenge. If you want to give Sue’s prompt a go too, head over to Sue’s Page Thursday Photo Prompt – Blue – and join in the prompt. KL ❤

5 thoughts on “The Message – #Writephoto

  1. Brilliant…both the idea and the prose! The emotion and the pain within the words wrenched my heart. The symbolism is superbly saying all that lies within. Thanks for sharing this piece.

    1. Thanks Michael. I’m definitely a bit rusty but I wanted to try something different and symbolise how she had been treated, showing an internal struggle and the heart knowing what it wants to hear. KL ❤

Leave a comment