How not to start the New Year!

New Year New Me?

Not exactly how I intended to start the New Year, my eyes flickering awake, my face sticking slightly to my pillow from the drool and snot that the flu had brought with it. Looking into the mirror I wished I hadn’t! I stare longingly at the sparkly dress I’d intended to wear last night. I’d wanted to start the year with a bang not celebrating with a cough, feeling festive with a fever or salutations with snot!

Fluffy robe on, I padded downstairs to let the dog out, at least he seemed quite impressed with the barking sounds I was making. More purple gloop needed, I decided. I pour the medicine out onto the ridiculously awkward little spoon and my stomach gives an involuntary gurgle at the purple drink it’s about to receive. I make a cuppa and hot water bottle returning to the warm bed, after a few minutes the fever rebels and I toss all blankets aside and stick my head out the window. Closing my eyes I savour the cool crisp fresh January air and start to feel slightly better.. if not now a little cold.

“Morning,” a cheery voice floats up to me and I open my eyes to see the neighbour out at his bird feeder. My brain quickly does a survey of what it thinks I look like; red nose and eyes, hair sticking out like I was born part cactus and please tell me I’ve got my dressing gown on! The results aren’t good. “Happy New Year, Charlie.” I quickly croak a reply and try to calmly close the window before quickly scurrying back to the duvet. Maybe next year…

===========================================================

In Response to FRIDAY FICTION with RONOVAN WRITES Prompt Challenge #7 & Daily Post’s Stroke of Midnight.

15 thoughts on “How not to start the New Year!

  1. ” . . . like I was born half cactus!” Ha. Glad you keep your sense of humor even when feeling as terrible as you did. Hope you are better this morning. Happy New Year.

    1. Haha! Thanks Meredith!! Yes it was! I wasn’t having much luck but at least it gave me something to write about 🙂 They say every cloud has a silver lining – haha KL ❤

  2. Thank you for joining in. I always copy and paste the pieces into my Word document I have formatted to look for certain things. Yours is very nice. Great humor. I love the being able to laugh at the situation. I saw the comment above and I am taking from it this was based in part on reality. 🙂 Hope you keep joining in.
    Much Respect
    Ronovan

    1. Thanks Ronovan! 🙂 Yes unfortunately both incidents are from life!! But I merged the timing together! Although I could have added hair on end, red nose, snotty tissues in hand, I got a surprise knock on the door by the inlaws – as that did happen at the same time! Lol. These times are sent to try us. 🙂 KL

    1. Thinks Ritu! Yes I thought it was better to smile and file it away for later use than dwell on it (actually I dwelled a little first – then did that!) Lol. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment too – much appreciated. KL ❤

Leave a comment