Review of The Dig (Matt Turner 1) by Michael Siemsen – Five Stars

The Dig (Matt Turner, #1)The Dig by Michael Siemsen

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I was pleasantly surprised by this novel. A slight stray from the usual archaeology/historical fiction genre, I wasn’t sure what to expect. The description was unusual and after reading a few chapters I soon found out why. This is an eclectic mix of historical fiction and fantasy with an intriguing dual timeline that has a fast action-filled pace.
The story is told from a multi-character perspective with Matt Turner taking the role of main character. The plot is based around Matt’s unusual ability that he wants to keep a secret. This ability has also caused him a great heartache in his life and this unfolds throughout the novel. Matt uses his ability to find out the history of an artefact, a journey that leaves Matt, the historians and the reader eager to know what happened next.
An action filled drama that is an unusual read. This would appeal to fans of Elly Griffiths, Phil Rickman, Barbara Erskine or Michael Schmicker type novels.

View all my reviews