Review of Return (Matt Turner – Book 3) by Michael Siemsen

Return (Matt Turner, #3)Return by Michael Siemsen
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I downloaded this book straight away after reading Matty, the short story which drew me back into the Matt saga. This is a GOOD read. I loved the first of the Matt Turner stories, the second was a little bit disappointing as the story seems disjointed a little in places. However this story really flew for me and I couldn’t help wanting to know what happened next. Siemsens writing is really back on top form.

The story revolves around Matt and his ability to pick an artefact and read its story. This time the plot is neat and tight and with the artefact being treasures of a long lost library what’s not to love? I love that Matt’s story has evolved in this book too, he is finding himself and getting control of his abilities instead of fearing them. I love that some old characters show up in this novel and that Siemsen has given them stronger roles in this novel.

This is a fast paced story getting to the action quickly, it drops loads of amazing little details and clues along the historical storyline that make this book well believable, in a bizarre way. The settings are immense particularly Alexandria. The ending was great, I felt so thrilled for Matt and still want to know what will happen to him next, although I suspect the author was wrapping the plot up there.

This series really is an odd blend, it is definitely not historical fiction and it’s not paranormal or even sci-fi, but an intriguing blend. An action filled trilogy that is an unusual read. These books would appeal to fans of Elly Griffiths, Phil Rickman, Barbara Erskine or Michael Schmicker type novels.

View all my reviews

Review of The Opal (Matt Turner book 2) – here
Review of The Dig (Matt Turner book 1) – here

Advertisements

Review of Matty (A Matt Turner Short Story) by Michael Siemsen

Matty: A Matt Turner Series ShortMatty: A Matt Turner Series Short by Michael Siemsen
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I was lucky to get this during a free amazon promotion! As it’s only a short (really short) story make sure you don’t pay too much for it, if you do decide to buy it.

That being said, this is a GOOD read. I loved the first of the Matt Turner stories, the second was a little bit disappointing as the story seems disjointed a little in places. This little story hits the nail on the head, with Siemsen’s writing back on top form.

The story revolves mostly around Matt and his dad, and gives the first insight of his dads’ conflict over whether to use Matt’s abilities or not. But when it involves a missing little girl who could be in a life threatening situation he decides it’s a risk worth taking.

This is a fast paced story getting to the action quickly. By going back to Matt’s childhood and home we can see his character better, the softer worried side of his mum, the tougher action based cop that is his dad and how they blend into Matt’s personality.

So yes, this is a short story and not 100% the authors usual style but I like this about it, if the author had drawn it out into a longer story or worse a novel it would have just been a page filling exercise. This is real storyline, short, simple and sweet.

Note – If you are going to read the Matt Turner series read this before the RETURN as it makes that stories plotline even stronger.

View all my reviews

Review of The Opal (Matt Turner book 2) – here
Review of The Dig (Matt Turner book 1) – here

Review of Doctor Sleep by Stephen King

Doctor Sleep (The Shining, #2)Doctor Sleep by Stephen King

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

It will be very few that pick up this book without knowing what it is about, but for those that do, this story picks up from where the shining has left off. Danny Torrence has grown up and leads a troubled adult life. His “gift” haunts him and he has turned to drink to numb it. Eventually Danny now Dan, decides he needs to start over, he changes towns, quits the drink and takes up a job in a nursing home using his shine to help others move on. But in the calm a new evil lurks in the form of a group of travellers that feed off of those with the shine. Dan meets (or rather is shined by) a young girl Abra Stone, and it is her spectacular gift, the brightest shining ever seen, that brings Dan out of his slump. Can he keep Abra safe?
I think this novel is a great addition to the King collection. Danny has matured and advanced a lot of the book and although his story is now more thriller than horror in many aspects, this book manages to live up to its reputation – not an easy job. The plot is strong and interesting with a diverse cast of characters. The novel is easy to read and I think most people will get through it quickly.
Overall, I found this novel an exciting read from a writer that I adore. His writing style has changed and developed over the years and this isn’t the “read-with-the-lights-on-horror” anymore. Instead, this is a well thought out book with all the character flaws and complications unfolding into a fun and diverse story.

View all my reviews

Review of The Lazarus Prophecy by F.G.Cottham – 5 Stars

The Lazarus ProphecyThe Lazarus Prophecy by F.G. Cottam

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This story mostly follows Jane Sullivan, a woman who has worked her way up through the metropolitan police ranks and now heads a police investigation in the murders of several women. When the killer moves from unknown prostitutes to public figures Jane’s investigation takes a serious step up, now in the public eye herself everyone watches her wondering where the investigation will go. Jane brings into her confidence Jacob prior a theologian who tries to translate the mysterious clues left behind by the killer. With links to a mystical religious priory and the Ripper cases, this novel has a lot going for it.
I think this novel with its theological twists would be enjoyed by Dan Brown fans. The writer had a great format that drew readers in quickly to the characters small triumph’s in what was otherwise a difficult time. Despite including the Ripper case and the religious orders secrets, the story still felt very fresh and original.
The main characters were well cast and I think the reader certainly felt part of their emotional journey. I enjoyed the multiple viewpoint story-telling.
I also loved the variety of settings in this novel ranging from the French Pyrenees, the poorest quarters of London, and the wealthier homes as the killer steps up his game. All are explained emotively through the characters. The Iconic London rivers and parks are also woven into the story expertly.
Overall I found this novel an exciting and fast-paced read from a writer that I have overlooked in the past.

View all my reviews