Review of Miss peregrines home for peculiar children by Ransom Riggs

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, #1)Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Miss peregrines home for peculiar children is based on a young boy called Jacob and the stories he was told by his grandfather. When his grandfather passes away in unusual circumstances Jacob begins to question the events his grandfather he was told about. When a psychologist suggests that Jacob goes to the remote Scottish Island that his grandfather based the stories on Jacob knows he has to go and find out the truth.
This book will really appeal to fans of Harry Potter and X-men stories. Something that is a little different but told from the viewpoint of someone that seems to be normal, finding out the truth about himself. Yet it is darker than either of those tales, almost in the genre of horror.
Ransom Riggs has quite a quirky writing style and I really enjoyed it. The use of the images throughout the book was so sinister and intriguing. It was a really refreshing approach to story-telling, which I really enjoyed.
Please leave a like/helpful vote if you think my review/feedback of the item was helpful to you. Alternatively, please contact me if you want me to clarify something in my review.

View all my reviews

Advertisements

Know Your History – 3rd February – Ransom Riggs

know your history - writingOn this day…

3rd February, 1979 – Ransom Riggs born

I feel like I am slightly addicted to Sherlock lately but finding out today was this authors birthday was serendipity, and a sign I wasn’t willing to miss.

One of the reasons I chose this author is because his methodology is amazing and quite inspiring. Riggs had collected curious vernacular photographs and approached his publisher, Quirk Books, about using some of them in a picture book. On the suggestion of an editor, Riggs used the photographs as a guide from which to put together a narrative. The resulting book was Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children which made The New York Times Best Seller list. Many authors are inspired by images and the desire to put them into words. Riggs has done just that and achieved a best seller. So next time you dig out that camera, it could be pointing at a bestseller.sherlock

The second reason I chose Ransom is because of his other, entirely different book The Sherlock Holmes Handbook. Words taken from Ransoms own blog are enticing enough to every Sherlock fan;

“..readers will discover a host of trivia about the master detective and his universe: Why did Holmes never marry? How was the real Scotland Yard organized? Was cocaine really legal back then? And why were the British so terrified of Australia? Full of fascinating how-to skills and evocative illustrations, The Sherlock Holmes Handbook will appeal to Baker Street Irregulars of all ages.”

While researching this post I came across a great “meet the author” article for Random Biggs (link below) and I immediately fell in love with this quote, for any British readers I think this will make you chuckle;

“..Britain just seems like a place where magical things happen with more frequency than the states. And I couldn’t set it in Scotland, because that’s where Harry Potter lives, and Wales is somewhere Americans are aware of as a place, but know little about, so it seemed like a “blank spot” on our collective map (King Arthur notwithstanding) where I could invent my own little mythology.”

Source(s)

http://notesoflife.co.uk/2012/05/meet-the-author-ransom-riggs-plus-giveaway/

http://www.ransomriggs.com/sherlock_handbook.php http://lauramarcella.blogspot.co.uk/2014/02/writers-born-in-february.html http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ransom_Riggs