Review of Return (Matt Turner – Book 3) by Michael Siemsen

Return (Matt Turner, #3)Return by Michael Siemsen
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I downloaded this book straight away after reading Matty, the short story which drew me back into the Matt saga. This is a GOOD read. I loved the first of the Matt Turner stories, the second was a little bit disappointing as the story seems disjointed a little in places. However this story really flew for me and I couldn’t help wanting to know what happened next. Siemsens writing is really back on top form.

The story revolves around Matt and his ability to pick an artefact and read its story. This time the plot is neat and tight and with the artefact being treasures of a long lost library what’s not to love? I love that Matt’s story has evolved in this book too, he is finding himself and getting control of his abilities instead of fearing them. I love that some old characters show up in this novel and that Siemsen has given them stronger roles in this novel.

This is a fast paced story getting to the action quickly, it drops loads of amazing little details and clues along the historical storyline that make this book well believable, in a bizarre way. The settings are immense particularly Alexandria. The ending was great, I felt so thrilled for Matt and still want to know what will happen to him next, although I suspect the author was wrapping the plot up there.

This series really is an odd blend, it is definitely not historical fiction and it’s not paranormal or even sci-fi, but an intriguing blend. An action filled trilogy that is an unusual read. These books would appeal to fans of Elly Griffiths, Phil Rickman, Barbara Erskine or Michael Schmicker type novels.

View all my reviews

Review of The Opal (Matt Turner book 2) – here
Review of The Dig (Matt Turner book 1) – here

Review of Matty (A Matt Turner Short Story) by Michael Siemsen

Matty: A Matt Turner Series ShortMatty: A Matt Turner Series Short by Michael Siemsen
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I was lucky to get this during a free amazon promotion! As it’s only a short (really short) story make sure you don’t pay too much for it, if you do decide to buy it.

That being said, this is a GOOD read. I loved the first of the Matt Turner stories, the second was a little bit disappointing as the story seems disjointed a little in places. This little story hits the nail on the head, with Siemsen’s writing back on top form.

The story revolves mostly around Matt and his dad, and gives the first insight of his dads’ conflict over whether to use Matt’s abilities or not. But when it involves a missing little girl who could be in a life threatening situation he decides it’s a risk worth taking.

This is a fast paced story getting to the action quickly. By going back to Matt’s childhood and home we can see his character better, the softer worried side of his mum, the tougher action based cop that is his dad and how they blend into Matt’s personality.

So yes, this is a short story and not 100% the authors usual style but I like this about it, if the author had drawn it out into a longer story or worse a novel it would have just been a page filling exercise. This is real storyline, short, simple and sweet.

Note – If you are going to read the Matt Turner series read this before the RETURN as it makes that stories plotline even stronger.

View all my reviews

Review of The Opal (Matt Turner book 2) – here
Review of The Dig (Matt Turner book 1) – here

Review of The Opal (Matt Turner Series Book 2) by Michael Siemsen – 4 stars

The Opal (Matt Turner, #2)The Opal by Michael Siemsen

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This novel picks up almost immediately after The Dig (book 1)left off. Matt is in a holiday resort with his girlfriend Trudi, when the archaeologist who learned of Matt’s ability in the first book shows up and kidnaps him. Forcing him to read “The Opal” Matt is thrown into the world of the Vikings and here the book is at its strongest, diving in and out of the sci-fi historical fiction idea that caught my attention in the first book.
As others have mentioned on Amazon reviews this book Siemsen made this book a lot more Action Movie/thriller based than the first novel and I do think that put me off a little, that being said the historical aspect for me was still really intriguing and still gave me that urge to turn the page and find out what will happen next.
Siemsen also went a lot more creative with the settings in this book as it featured a lot of globe-trotting and I think that meant a lot of detail in each area that the reader was having to learn, his first novel was a lot more focussed in one areas surroundings, this again had a positive and negative affect on me. I like an author to be creative with settings but think this had a bit too much chopping and changing of locations, making it feel a little laboured in places.
The characters in this book are excellent and if I am honest one of the main reasons I came back for more. I like how Matt grows in this book and the insights we get into his childhood. A great development of this character.
Overall, I enjoyed this book, it has a great storyline and interesting mix of characters. It was not as strong as book 1 in the series, but was still a great book and highly recommended. I have already bought the next one from this great author.

4 stars

View all my reviews

Review of The Dig (Matt Turner 1) by Michael Siemsen – Five Stars

The Dig (Matt Turner, #1)The Dig by Michael Siemsen

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I was pleasantly surprised by this novel. A slight stray from the usual archaeology/historical fiction genre, I wasn’t sure what to expect. The description was unusual and after reading a few chapters I soon found out why. This is an eclectic mix of historical fiction and fantasy with an intriguing dual timeline that has a fast action-filled pace.
The story is told from a multi-character perspective with Matt Turner taking the role of main character. The plot is based around Matt’s unusual ability that he wants to keep a secret. This ability has also caused him a great heartache in his life and this unfolds throughout the novel. Matt uses his ability to find out the history of an artefact, a journey that leaves Matt, the historians and the reader eager to know what happened next.
An action filled drama that is an unusual read. This would appeal to fans of Elly Griffiths, Phil Rickman, Barbara Erskine or Michael Schmicker type novels.

View all my reviews