Review of The Kept Woman: (Will Trent Series Book 8) by Karin Slaughter – 5 Stars

The Kept Woman (Will Trent, #8)The Kept Woman by Karin Slaughter

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I love the Will Trent series. It took a while at first to warm to it I’ll admit, mostly due to the fact that I really liked the Grant County series with Jeffrey and hated that he was killed off. Will (the main character in the Will Trent series) was initially as a character too…well… good – too nice – too sweet – too vulnerable. It was certainly a change of pace from Jeffrey. That said I still loved Sara Linton, the character that crosses both series. I also very quickly liked Will’s partner in the series – Faith. Now that we are in the eighth book of the Will Trent series, Karin Slaughter has really found her stride. The characters are so lifelike and complicated yet you cannot help but like the good guys, hate the bad guys and well feel conflicted about those that straddle the worlds of good and bad.

In this novel, we catch up with Will and Sara trying to live their happily ever after and things seem right on track. That is until an ex-police officer is found dead at an abandoned nightclub owned by a famous sports hero who has just escaped a rape charge Will was trying to file against him. Things go from bad to worse when the team examines the scene and all signs point to Will’s ex-wife Angie being the culprit of the attack. Not only does it look like she was involved but the amount of blood lost at the scene means she could be in real danger. Sara’s scene-of-the-crime diagnosis is that they only have a few hours to find Angie before she bleeds out

This book looks big but it is fast reading. Real page-turning action reading. The writing style is fluid, intriguing, and completely engrossing. And the plot… well, it is absolutely jam-packed twists, murder, drama, deception, secrets, lies, heartache and mystery.

I quite liked the way this book was laid out too. The first half follows Will, Sara and the investigation team. Whilst the middle shines the spotlight on Angie. It gives a real insight into her past, her impulse reactions, her motivations and her desire to have Will to herself. She truly is such a conflicting character who you will love, hate, love, hate. Somehow this makes Will’s storyline even more intriguing.

Whilst this is the eighth book in the series I think it could be read as a standalone. In fact, most of the series can as I read it completely out of order initially, so if you see it at a bargain price don’t let the order put you off.

Please leave a like if you think my review/feedback of the item was helpful to you. Alternatively, please contact me if you want me to clarify something in my review.

View all my reviews

Review of How I Lost You by Jenny Blackhurst – 5 Stars

How I Lost YouHow I Lost You by Jenny Blackhurst

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Before I even opened this book I was hooked, of all the taglines I have seen this has got to be one of the best – “They told her she killed her baby, She served her time, What if they lied?”
This book is about a woman named Susan Webster who is accused of killing her baby Dylan whilst suffering from terrible post-partum depression. Susan has no recollection of the incident but all those around her; doctors, police & even her husband tell her she has done this terrible crime. When she gets out of prison and starts her new life as Emma she receives a photo of a small child claiming to be Dylan. Throwing her fresh start out the window Susan (with some help from a journalist and her previous prison inmate) begins to hunt down the truth. Can she find it in the web of lies that surrounds her?
This is Jenny Blackhurst’s debut novel and she hasn’t half burst her way onto the crime fiction scene. Her writing style is very fluid, sharp and clear keeping you gripped from the very first page. Loads of twists and turns and hints of information and characters dropped in at just the right time. So many underlying secrets that you can’t tell who is a goodie and who is a baddie.
Psychological thriller huge genre with similar stories out there yet this still stands out very much on its own as a great storyline and excellent writing. If you liked Before I go to Sleep by SJ Watson style of suspense writing then I think you will enjoy this novel.
Please leave a like, if you think my review/feedback of the item was helpful to you. Alternatively, please contact me if you want me to clarify something in my review.

Wow! Dazzling Debut Novel. Can’t wait to read more from this author.

View all my reviews

Review of Malevolent by E.H. Reinhard – 4.5 Stars

Malevolent (Lieutenant Kane, #1)Malevolent by E.H. Reinhard

My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

A woman arrives at an airport, the next time she is seen is when she is found dead in an alley in a dumpster wearing only green lingerie. Worse she has holes drilled into her head and a powerful drug in her system. Soon the press label the killer psycho surgeon and it’s easy to see why. Can Lieutenant Carl Kane and his partner hunt down this killer before more woman show up?

This book his pretty intense, certainly gory as other readers have pointed out in reviews, so if you’re a bit squeamish there will be a few chapters to skip over. I did get this book for free and although a fan of detective crime fiction was unsure what to expect from this new author in a field that is already pretty full with the likes of Mark Billingham, Ian Rankin, amongst countless others. That said I actually found myself really enjoying this book. It was very well written.
Not going to lie, the book is dark. That just makes you want the good guys to catch the bad guys, even more. Kane himself is quite likeable, with a good spark between him and his partner. Kane lives alone with his cat, he even finds time for a love interest.

The only real negative I would say is there are a few places that there is a lot of descriptions going on that’s purpose seems to be just to fill out the pages a little, especially in comparison to the mostly sharp action-filled pace of writing Reinhard seems to adopt for the majority of the book. Then again, this could be to give the book a bit of a relief from the fast pace.
All in all, a fabulous start to a great new series. Book works perfectly as a standalone novel but there is plenty of room for the character to grow and I expect this will be a long-running series. Not for the faint of heart, perfect for those that enjoy the grittier side of crime drama. Action heavy, fun, fast-paced novel.
Please leave a “like” if you think my review/feedback of the item was helpful to you. Alternatively, please contact me if you want me to clarify something in my review.

View all my reviews

Review of Harry’s Torment by Michael Beck

Harry's TormentHarry’s Torment by Michael Beck

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is an unusual crime thriller set (mostly) in the ports, checking the Lorries that come and go for drugs, cigarettes etc. It is an interesting premise and one that I had not previously come across. The department have to integrate with a lot of others and those that are in charge get frustrated that the credit for a good catch never falls to them.
This is a multi-viewpoint story, often told from the perspective of one-time respected top dog Harry who is in charge of a local unit, but his methods and manner is out-dated and when he is side-stepped for promotion by a younger, less experienced, female his world starts to become that bit more difficult. The story also follows Clint a shy, easy-going officer whose main focus is doing a good job, unfortunately this is often at the detriment of his home life.
The story had an interesting plot, with lots of drama from the first page. This novel is incredibly well researched by the author, which I think gives it a really interesting feel for the predicaments the characters have found themselves in. The gritty, dark, drug-dealing underworld is truly brought to life in this dramatic story.
The characters are incredibly well written and I can see them returning in future novels, this would make a great crime thriller series. These books will appeal to fans of Ian Rankin or David Baldacci style writing; dark, gritty, and quick-paced, crime thriller with a very smart plot and plenty of action.

View all my reviews

Review of Under the Ice by Aaron Paul Lazar – 4 Stars

Under the Ice (LeGarde Mystery #9)Under the Ice by Aaron Paul Lazar
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Apparently this is number nine in the Gus LeGarde Mystery series. So I would give this author a pat on the back with how well this book is written. Having not read a single previous book in the series I dropped right into this one, picked up the characters, the locations and their lives all without realizing it was the ninth in the series until the very end when prompted to buy another in the series.

As mentioned above the characters and locations are all well written and you are immediately drawn into this busy family and their lives together. The story is mainly about Gus Le Garde and his step-daughter, Shelby. She is the main reason the book has dropped a star from me. Apparently she was in a coma from the age of 6 to 15, then came out and is living a normal teenage life, with the teenage attitude accompanied and even learning to drive. All a little bit far-fetched.

That aside, the storyline is actually really good. Shelby has discovered boys and dating, has the typical teenage angst and more importantly her biological father is getting out of prison and has apparently turned over a new leaf. Plenty to keep Gus on his toes and concerned about her. But with several grandchildren cluttering up the house, a serious flu and his best friend becoming so paralysed with fear he is practically homebound, Gus certainly has his work cut out for him. Can he keep it all together?
Guy is a likeable character who you do root for quickly. He is just nice, an all round good guy who seems to come up against problem after problem.

This novel is somewhere in between the genres of cosy mystery and thriller. Something that can be read quite quickly, easily and manages to keep the reader engaged.

View all my reviews