Review of Rules for a Perfect Life by Niamh Greene – 3.5 Stars

Rules for a Perfect LifeRules for a Perfect Life by Niamh Greene

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

My review for this is really a 3.5 Stars.
Maggie has a taste for the nicer things in life, she has a nice man, a nice job and a love of nice handbags. On a whim, she decides nice isn’t good enough for her and ditches her fella. Soon after she finds herself out of a job due to the housing market crash and finds herself in need of a new home too. With few other options when her friend offers her the chance to move out to the country to house sit for her, Maggie accepts. She soon finds out country life is not all it’s cracked up to be!

Niamh Greene has a very easy to read writing style, and I would suggest Marion Keyes fans will adore her. My only concern is the story felt a little drawn out (however that may just be this novel or my own preference). The story followed the typical rom-com structure and I enjoyed it as an easy light-hearted read.

While Maggie as a character did get a fair few drama’s thrown at her to deal with, I actually found her character a little frustrating. She came across as a bit spoilt and selfish and it took me a while to get behind her and start willing her to get the guy (haha). Although some of her sarcasm was top notch. The guy, however, came across as lovely, single devoted father, hard-worker, and all-round family man. You really do want him to get his happily ever after.

The tale was very similar to those by Marion Keyes, I would say Greene is not quite as good as Sophie Kinsella or Helen Fielding but similar in a lot of ways.

A good, enjoyable holiday read, I would certainly read more from this author but I do think it could have been even better.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

