73(ish) questions – Looking at you through the glass…

So, I was reading an unusual post from a fellow WordPress blogger who normally writes fantastic fiction (check her out – awordadventure). Instead, she was doing the 73 question quiz below. Her answers were great and I couldn’t help considering what my answers would be so here you go:-

Tweaked to add a 74th question. Feel free to join in the fun and remember to pingback so I can check out your answers too. 🙂

KL ❤

  1. What’s your favourite movie?
definitely maybe_jane eyre_book_ryan reynolds

Quote from Definitely Maybe

Tough question but I would probably go with Definitely Maybe. It’s a strange one for me as I’m not really a romcom person but I love this one. Maybe because it was a book that brought them together. 🙂

  1. Favourite movie in the past five years?

Now You See Me – an Unusual movie with a great twist at the end.

  1. Favourite Hitchcock film?

The birds. Definitely. Watched this late at night on holiday when I was about 12, then ironically there was fluttering sound against the window. A moth was in the bedroom, scared the crap out of me.

  1. A book you plan on reading?

The sequel to Miss Peregrine’s School for Peculiar Children. Adored the first book, the mixture of bizarre old photo’s and intriguing storyline.

  1. A book that you read in school that positively shaped you?

To Kill a Mockingbird. This wasn’t actually part of our school reading but my step-father had read it when he was at school and suggested I would enjoy it. It turned into one of my favourite books.

  1. Favourite TV show that’s currently on?

Vikings.

  1. On a scale of one to ten, how excited are you about life right now?

8 or 9. 2015 wasn’t a great year for me, so I’m determined to do all I can to 635850197284573487-484381917_Setting-Goals-for-2016make 2016 a great year. Apart from a rather horrid dose of flu and chest infection, it’s going quite well. With the first draft of my novel almost done, I am hoping 2016 will sparkle.

  1. IPhone or Android?

Android.

  1. Twitter or Instagram?

Neither

  1. Who should EVERYONE be following right now?

Sue Vincent (you may know Sue from Ani’s fame :p) from Daily Echo and Ronovan Hester from Ronovanwrites. Ronovan has recently published a novel too that I am enjoying immensely, review to follow soon.

  1. What’s your favourite food?

Pasta.

  1. Least favourite food?

Fish

  1. What do you love on your pizza?

Pepperoni

  1. Favourite drink?books & tea

Tea

  1. Favourite dessert?

Lemon cheesecake

  1. Dark chocolate or milk chocolate?

Milk

  1. Coffee or tea?

Tea

  1. What’s the hardest part about being a mum?

I’m not a mum. I am however owned by two fluffy slave-drivers. Millie asleepHardest part of that is the helpless feeling when they are poorly. Last year the little one had an infection and had to have two of her backteeth taken out. She was so poorly for days and sat crying. We realised she had deviously learned that if she cried we came running to soothe her.

  1. What’s your favourite band?

The Baseballs

  1. Favourite solo artist?

Michael Buble

  1. Favourite song?

This changes regularly. I love music and have quite eclectic tastes I listen to everything from pop to heavy metal and most stuff in between it all depends on my mood. So my favourite song right now is “can’t feel my face” by the weeknd.

  1. If you could sing a duet with anyone, who would it be?

I wouldn’t sing with anyone except maybe the dog but I don’t think he’d be pleased about it.

  1. If you could master one instrument, what would it be?

Piano

  1. If you had a tattoo, where would it be?

On my hip. Somewhere secret but that I could still see it if I wanted to.

  1. To be or not to be?

To be is to do. —Socrates

  1. Dogs or cats?

Dogs.

  1. Bird-watching or whale-watching?

I get sea-sick but I would love to do Whale-watching

  1. The best gift you’ve ever received?

Soppy but I would say my engagement ring.

  1. The best gift you’ve ever given?

For his birthday I sent my husband to a 4×4 track that he could use his own vehicle on. He still talks fondly about the day now and the farm that did it is now closed. It feels like it wasn’t a gift I gave him but a special memory for that stage in his life.

  1. The last gift you gave a friend?

A necklace and perfume set.

  1. What’s your favourite board game?

Monopoly. My husband got me English Heritage monopoly for Christmas too.

  1. What’s your favourite country to visit?

Great Britain. I love history and it truly is everywhere around us. Living in the UK, I am always so amazed at how much of our own history we do not know, despite it being on our doorstep. I have an English Heritage and National Trust pass and love nothing more than visiting these sites and finding out the history of the site and the people that once lived there.

  1. What’s the last country you visited?

Corsica in France. A beautiful small island, that feels almost Italian but is French. The people were wonderful, the food was delicious and the sites were just breathtaking.

  1. What country do you wish to visit?

There are several parts of Italy I haven’t yet visited, Florence, Venice & Pisa.

  1. What’s your favourite colour?

Blue

  1. Least favourite colour?

Orange

  1. Diamonds or pearls?

Neither – my most precious jewels are the sterling silver charms my husband buys me for my traditional charm bracelet, each one documenting an occassion so far in our life together.

  1. Heels or flats?run funny

I have succumbed to the flats.

  1. Pilates or yoga?

Neither – at the moment, my (incredibly active) husband has me doing the T25 workout on an evening.

  1. Jogging or swimming?

Swimming.

  1. The best way to de-stress?

Book, bath and tea.

  1. If you had one superpower, what would it be?

I would love to be able to read like Johnny 5.

giphy

  1. What’s the weirdest word in the English language?

Inflammable. Flammable and Inflammable, why do we have two words for this?

  1. What’s your favourite flower?

Tulips.

  1. When was the last time you cried?

3 weeks ago.

  1. Do you like your handwriting?

I don’t think anyone does. However in general, I love handwriting I think it is truly beautiful and a lost art. I went to the Glasgow Museum of Transport last year and they have some old original ship drawings, all hand drawn and all with handwritten notes, they were breath-taking to me, the detail is just amazing.

  1. Do you bake?

No

  1. What is your least favourite thing about yourself?

I worry too much and over-analyze things, particularly when it comes to people. I allow other people’s emotions affect mine.

  1. What is your most favourite thing about yourself?

My organisation skills. I am quite a methodical person and like to have things planned and organised.

  1. Who do you miss most?

My mum.

  1. What are you listening to right now?

Nothing, the birds tweeting and the dogs snoring, apart from that silence.

  1. Favourite smell?

Clean bedding that has been drying on the laundry line.

  1. Who was the last person you talked to on the phone?

My husband.

  1. Who was the last person you sent a text to?

My Dad.

  1. A sport you wish you could play?Robert Louis Stevenson

I wish I was braver (and fitter) so that I could go downhill biking with my husband. Something I may work towards on the side.

  1. Hair colour?

Red

  1. Eye colour?

Blue

  1. Scary film or happy endings?

Scary film

  1. Favourite season?

Winter.

  1. Three people alive or dead that you would like to have dinner with?

Barbara Erskine, Phil Rickman and Sarah Rayne – although if I could have a fourth it would be Stephen fry.

  1. Hugs or kisses?

Hugs

  1. Rolling Stones or the Beatles?rolling stone

Stones

  1. Where were you born?

Scotland

  1. What is the farthest you have been from home?

Tunisia

  1. Sweet or savoury?

Savoury

  1. Lipstick or lip gloss?

Lipstick if I feel I have to. Generally, makeup less is my preference.

  1. What book have you read again and again?

I am not really a re-reader but any Barbara Erskine book is certainly worth a re-read – Lady of Hay, Kingdom of Shadows, Child of the Pheonix.

  1. Favourite bedtime story?roald dahl quote - secrets & magic

Again I am not a re-reader, I am captivated by each new story I come across. As a child, I was bought Roald Dhal’s treasury full of stories, poems and sketches. I used to take that to bed with me in between books and I still have it now, so probably that.

  1. What would be the title of your autobiography?

Looking at you through the glass – outside looking in.

  1. Favourite sound?

The sound of the country. I want to live somewhere more remote one day. I love waking up having a cuppa tea, letting the dog out into the garden and listening to the birds tweeting and the world waking. It’s a shame that it’s so noisy once it’s awake!

  1. Favourite animal?Laddie Millie - Walks

Dog – how can it not be with these two filling my life with love and laughter?

 

  1. Who is your girl crush?

I am drawing a real blank at this one. I don’t think I would use the term girl crush as I guess that is centred on looks if so I guess Isla Fisher. However, there are so many to women admire an obvious one would be J.K Rowling not just for her fantastic novels, or because of the obstacles she has overcome but mainly for the fact that she has managed to encourage a generation of children to read. A generation that I fear may have missed out if because of how many other options there are for things to do with your time.

  1. The last photograph you took?

Helmsley CastleHelmsley Castle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Just one little extra question….

 74. What are the five items you must have on a deserted island?

Is a boat, compass, atlas, food and drink are out of the question? I could probably sacrifice the food for some suncream as I go red as a lobster.

sunburn book funny

 

3 thoughts on “73(ish) questions – Looking at you through the glass…

Leave a Reply

