Mount Vesuvius

Last year as part of our honeymoon, myself and the other half booked a trip to climb Mount Vesuvius. Not the most romantic of excursions but it is something to tick of the bucket list. Well, I am not the fittest of people and my other half, well let’s just say had been taking part in insanity fitness programme, goes mountain biking weekly and works as a land surveyor (lots of speed-walking). About half-way up the trail I was dawdling so told my partner I was going to stop at one of the posts for a breather and to take some pretty pictures. So off I went camera lifted in the air snapping away and when I turned round he was gone! He had continued up the remainder without me. Worse than that he had the bottles of water in his back-pack!

To cut a long story short I have never walked so quickly in my life, nothing like a bit of anger to overcome any signs of un-fitness, it practically propelled me up the mountain. When I appeared at the top red-faced (not sure if it was from anger or exertion!) he found it hilarious that he had left me abandoned halfway up a mountain with no water. I still maintain I had the most beautiful photo’s from my slow-clicking ascent. Looking back I can find it funny and I have learned a valuable lesson. The vows should have been

“To Have and To Hold
In Sickness and in Health
Unless you are climbing too frickin slowly
up a mountain in which case I’m off!”

…and just to prove I made it 🙂

Vesuvius

4 thoughts on “Mount Vesuvius

Leave a Reply

