Quote

A twat at work? or just a misunderstanding?

Honesty is the best policy, right?

But what about in the workplace?

What if if you class them as a friend as well as a colleague?

11-03-2015 13-26-39

I recently had someone at work being a twat! There are other words I could use to describe him, arrogant, lazy, frustrating, sexist, chauvinistic, the list could go on a while, but what it really boils down to is he was just being a twat, for the sake of it.

He had been at the company for quite and always been relatively helpful, including to me, because of this he had worked his way up in the world to become part of my team, no problem there, that’s usually a good thing. That’s when the drama started. I couldn’t get him to do a thing. He would pick and choose when he came and went, pick and choose when he completed his tasks (if he completed them), I’m still finding stuff to this day that is wrong, that he knew how to do correctly, then I found out he was deliberately being unhelpful to the rest of the team.

Time to put a stop to it.

I tried the wait it out approach, it might just be a phase?
I tried the friend approach, he had expressed problems at home before maybe they had resurfaced?
I tried the workload approach, was his workload too heavy, too light?
Maybe he needed a break, suggestion was thrown back in my face.
Try confront him and tell him he is being difficult, the response was him ignoring me the remainder of the day if not longer.
Maybe he thinks I am breathing down his neck, remote desktop and work in another office giving him space.
etc.
etc.
etc.

Why? To this day I do not know? Maybe sometimes someone just turns out to be a twat!

My advice to anyone suffering this, if you have tried the basics to resolve it, and its not resolved, walk away. If the strain on you when you’re truly trying to help someone who won’t help themselves is too much, walk away. Everyone has things going on behind closed doors that others can’t see, you can’t allow yourself to break while trying to heal someone else.

like a boss

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Set It To Rights.”

3 thoughts on “A twat at work? or just a misunderstanding?

Leave a Reply

