The Pirate Teacher

Tell us about a teacher who had a real impact on your life, either for the better or the worse. How is your life different today because of him or her?

teacher

I loved school, well not all of it but I certainly have a few good memories and was lucky I also had a few good teachers.

English was definitely one of my favourite classes, I love to read and write and I do think that was partly down to my mum, who was always reading to me at home. This interest definitely expanded though when I got to highschool. I was lucky to have made it to a class with an incredibly eccentric English teacher who managed to make everything we did fun. I remember one of his tactics was to get us to read in accents. I know this sounds crazy now but it truly worked. He would come into class and decide that everything we read that day would be in Pirate (regular chose this accent, think it was his favourite, or cowboy (of mice and men), or Irish (I still remember Gillian Clarke’s poem about a supposedly barren sheep because of this).

He was also excellent at discipline, I still remember one day when some kids were talking at the back of the class him jumping onto their desk and started to pretend to surf, they immediately stopped talking and he sarcastically said, “sorry am I distracting you by doing something irrelevant to your conversation?”, the girls immediately blushed and spent the rest of the time silent. Sounds crazy but it worked!

This teacher eventually moved on to teach at University and hopefully that means he has played a part in inspiring many new great English teachers.

So, if you are ever finding a report extremely difficult to get through, try reading it out loud, in pirate! You’ll be surprised how well you understand and remember it!

teach 2Prompt – https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/teachers-pet/

4 thoughts on “The Pirate Teacher

Leave a Reply

