The power of emotional baggage

Baggage Check
We all have complicated histories. When was the last time your past experiences informed a major decision you’ve made?

Wiki description – Emotional baggage is an everyday expression that correlates with many varied but similar concepts within social sciences, self-help movements, and other fields: its general concern is with unresolved issues of an emotional nature, often with an implication that the emotional baggage is detrimental.

There’s nothing as motivating than your baggage… for me anyway. Not to toot my own horn, but I like to look at the negatives in my life and try to make them a positive. I think most of my decisions have been based on my baggage as it makes me strive for better things in my life.

Take my home for instance, I grew up as a child in a council house, which itself is not a bad thing but as I was growing up the families in my street all started buying their houses, something we thought we would never do. I remember the burning jealousy as the council came round to re-paint the council houses and suddenly our house was painted a bright crisp magnolia, highlighting that we didn’t own it. I remember my friend saying her mum and dad had been the first to buy the house in the street and flaunting it as a badge of honour, as a child you pretend not to care, but the memory stayed with me highlighting that I clearly did. As an adult one of my achievements is I bought a 3 bed home for my family at the age of 26 without the help of parents, the council or otherwise. That childhood taunt of being poor making me strive to achieve something that seemed impossible, something I was willing to work and saved exceptionally hard for.

So let your baggage empower you to improve something you never thought you could…

My pride

2 thoughts on “The power of emotional baggage

  1. That is a piece good writing. Also, a very good example of how motivation should work. But the main ingredient in the story is YOU, your critical thinking, positive approach and the power of your will. Dream on, girl! You have seen what your dreams may come 🙂

    • Thank you very much for the lovely comment Elena. It was my first thought when I saw the prompt, should baggage always be seen as a bad thing? It ‘s easy to focus on the negative baggage we all carry and forget the positive. 🙂

Leave a Reply

