Imposter syndrome – every writer must suffer this at some point

Image

Imposter syndrome – every writer must suffer this at some point. As someone starting out I have only told a few people about my writing. This is not because of some superhero complex where I want to keep my writer-self a secret (unfortunately) it is actually because of the fear. Fear that I will never have work published, fear that I will never write anything good enough, or just the plain fear that I am opening that side of me and I do not know how it will be received. I know that in my day job (back to the super-hero complex) if my boss were to criticize the work I had completed, stubbornly I would be determined to prove him wrong or would work twice as hard on my next project, just to prove myself. I need to bring that attitude to writing. We are all already our own critics, we know of the improvements we can make (spelling, grammar & writing style), but we all have a voice, a story to tell, and a passion for writing it, that’s what makes us writers, the imperfections are what second drafts are for.

See more at todays Daily Prompt – http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/27/prompt-the-great-pretender/

15 thoughts on “Imposter syndrome – every writer must suffer this at some point

  1. Pingback: B.Kaotic

Leave a Reply

