Hunt the headlines…

As part of my daily routine at work, when logging into our intranet page, I have a little nosey at the BBC headlines live feed app that populates on the page. However after continuously reading about the floods in the UK my mind started to lose focus on the stories behind the headlines and come up with my own. My warped mind finding the stories of the environmental minister failing to respond to severe weather warnings particularly tickled me after a friend pointed it out to me saying he thought the BBC had clearly over-reacted, he had heard the minister was on the phone that morning to Poseidon begging him to stop this prosecution against the UK. Clearly the phone call hadn’t worked. But alas a new creative hobby had been created – blowing out those cobwebs and setting a new challenge for all!

Expecting this to die a death fairly quickly, the following day I sent off my first witty (if I do say so myself) installation of Hunt the Headlines to my colleagues:-
HTH1

Although I know a few people will be horrified at the stereotyping etc, remember this is just a bit of office banter. On that note, I was incredibly pleased that one of my colleagues joined in again with the response “I am more concerned for the poor guy that was won by Bowie”.

HTH2

I had missed one of the best double-entendre headlines available of the day. But now not only my creative side but my competitive side was awake and ready for action. So now my morning routine has been completely changed I excitedly come into work switch the pc on, make a cuppa while I wait for the computer to wake-up then excitedly scour the homepage for the latest morsels.

HTH3

I am keeping a little collection of these headlines lurking in my idea book; I think a few of them would be great ideas for children’s stories. After all I’d much rather read a story about Super-Nanny taking over the police or the Prime Minister calling King Triton and asking him to stop the waves. Wasn’t this how Roald Dahl got started with stories like “The BFG”, talking to his children about what happens when they are asleep but changing it into something far more interesting?

Leave a Reply

